Achalasia – One year after POEM surgery

I just returned from the hospital where I had to be for an one year after check-up from my POEM surgery. My doctor was very glad to see me and also to know that I feel absolutely fine. He asked me if I have any problems for swallowing, pains in the chest or regurgitation, none of this in my case. Only when I eat a lot at the evening and the upper part of the bed is not a bit elevated, so it can happen that a bit of reflux goes up the esophagus and disturb me a bit. He asked also about my wight, and as I have now 4 kg additional, it would be better to get rid of them. Sometimes it can happen, that when the stomach grows it will do some pressure on the lower esophagus and then one can feel some small pain or just a sensation of burning. So I will take this advise seriously.
After that he did some esophagus examination for looking if there are any signs of reflux in my lower esophagus. After sleeping nicely (I’m really addicted to this procedure, it’s a nice sensation how the medicament put you to sleep within such a short time) I awoke and I got some cafe and dry bread, well after 10 hours not eating and drinking I was very thankful to get something tommy stomach. I had again a final speech with my doctor about what he saw, nothing to be worry about, some little signs of reflux but using the acid blocker, this can be controlled easily. So I was very happy that everything is okay. So until next year, ….

11 thoughts on “Achalasia – One year after POEM surgery

  1. Hi Roger,

    Do you find that you need to be on a PPI every day, or do you only need to take them for brief periods of time?

    • Hi Shane,

      I had chest pains before the surgery around 3 to 4 times a week just in the middle to the right of my chest. After the surgery the pains went gradually away, it took around 2 to 3 month. 1 week after the surgery I had maybe once a week a weak chest pain. So to me POEM helped me a lot.

      I still take PPI once a day because the entrance from the esophagus to the stomach is a bit open. So the month following the surgery I felt sometimes how some stomach liquid went up during night. But that was few times, after I eat a lot for night which is in all the ways not a good idea. I put the upper part of the bed a bit higher, like this I do not have anymore problems.

      I wish you good luck and I hope you will feel better afterwards. Keep me informed.

      Best regards,
      Roger

    • Hi,
      I can only say that POEM helped to me 100%, now some 1 1/2 years later I have abosultely no problems and even the chest pains went away. The procedure was performed at Zurich, Switzerland and I was so lucky that Prof Dr. Inoue himself did the procedure. Fact is that the whole procedure is giving no pains to the patient, at most you can get some chest pains but one is accustom to them. So I can not imagine the same advantage with heller myotomy.
      Best regards,
      Roger

  2. I have been following your story regarding your POEM experience.
    I was recently diagnosed with Spastic Achalasia and have been referred to Northwestern University in Chicago. I am very happy to read that the procedure has worked for you. Like you I have made multiple attempts to find long term outcomes of the procedure to no avail.
    I go to Chicago to meet with the surgeon on 12/31/13, I am very scared. Knowledge relieves fear, and with this diagnosis and not a lot of long term data, the fear has not been alleviated as much as I had hoped for. Would you mind sharing with me how you are feeling today, as your blog seems a little older.
    Thank you for your insight.

    • Hi Sidney,

      I know how are you feeling. I was in the same situation but I knew that the alternative to POEM could be even worse. I was lucky that Prof. Dr. Inoue himself was doing the procedure on me, of course this helped me a lot. Well now I would say it’s important that somebody doing POEM does have some experience. If this is the case, it is absolutely the best method I could imagine. There are no pains (well not more as those chest pains from time to time) and after 3 days after the procedure one is able to eat some liquid food without problems and after at most 2 weeks one can eat normal. Now after 18 month after the procedure I feel great, not even chest pains are disturbing me. I can eat everything without any problems and the only medicaments I take is against reflux for safety if potentially some reflux comes up it does not harm my esophagus. That’s all. Really all the achalasia problems have gone away. So be confident, ask about the experience, does the doctor give you a good impression, where he leaned POEM, how many time he did it, who will assist him?
      I wish you good luck and let me know how are you going.
      Best regards,
      Roger

  3. Hi Roger, I hope to see an update from you now that you are about 2 years from the surgery. How are you doing?

    I have my POEM surgery scheduled in about 2 weeks and I also started blog ( http://achalasiapoemsurgery.wordpress.com/ ) to share what happened and to hopefully also help with knowledge of what to expect to all people that come after us.

    • Hi, yes in 4 days I will have my second examination and I will give an update. By now I can say that I feel great! To you I wish you the best for your surgery and I look forward to read your story. Good Luck!

  4. Hi Roger,
    I have been diagnosed with acalasia since 2012. i badly need the POEM done on me. can you help me get in touch with Prof .Dr. Inoue? I live in a asian country & hope to get the op done soon.

    Thanks
    Suresh

  5. Hi, i just complete my POEM procedure Nov 2015, so kindly pls advise whether can i go for Endoscopy test now??

Leave a Reply

