Achalasia – Two year after POEM surgery

Time is passing quickly, this week I had my second check-up, more than two years passed since Prof. Dr. Inoue and Prof. Dr. Seewald did the POEM surgery. As always for this check-up I was not allowed to eat or drink for 10 hours before the check-up. The doctor asked me how I feel and if I have still some problems. Happily I was able to answer all questions negative and only about the chest pains I had to say, that in the past year I felt them four times, but rather weak and not able to compare with the pains before the surgery. So in my point of view I feel 100% fine and very happy.
Anyway I have to be careful, that’s about my wight, I’m still 88kg and this is around 3-4 kg too much for my hight (1.77m). Also this helps to press some acid liquid from the stomach to the esophagus, so when the doctor did some examination of the esophagus, he saw some red spots, a sign of acid which irritate the esophagus. So I have to continue to take Esomep 40mg every morning before the breakfast. Personally I feel that Esomep 40mg are helping better than other products I had in the past.
After one hour I left the hospital very happy. So see you again in one year ….

14 thoughts on “Achalasia – Two year after POEM surgery

  1. Thank you for posting an update and its great to hear that you are doing well 2 years after. Watch out for that acid, its nothing to play with. With my POEM surgery just days away its really good to hear from someone that did this 2 years ago and doing well. Thank you.

      • Hi, thanks a lot for your posting, it’s important to know and to remember that every surgery has it’s risks and not always everything is working as planed. But even you had to pass horrible moments I’m glad you survived and you are able to tell us the story. I wish you all the best and that you will recover soon.
        Best regards, Roger

  2. Hi, Hope you are feeling great. i too have Acalasia & need to undergo POEM. But i dont know how to get in touch with Dr.Inoue. can you help me. I am Suresh from Sri Lanka.

    • Hi Suresh, I’m fine and feeling great thank you for asking about me. I can not help you to get in touch with Dr. Inoue. But you should be able to find the hospital he is working using google and contact his office. He is a very busy man and traveling a lot. So it’s difficult to get in touch with him. Another alternative is the clinic Hirslanden in Zurich (Prof. Seewald), Dr. Inoue comes from time to time for doing some cases. Good luck, best regards, Roger

      • Thanks Roger for the prompt reply. i am glad to hear that you are doing fine.
        just a few questions, werethe clips inside removed or did it just dissolved ?
        Also how much did the surgery cost you back then?

        Suresh.

      • The clips are falling out of there place automatically and go away. The cost in Switzerland was around 25’000.- CHF for 8 days, that was my case. Good luck Roger

  3. Hi, I hope you are well. I live in Japan.
    I have a girl friend and she had a terrible diagnosis of achalasia for a long time. she’s got surgery of balloon dilation and got well but it was short. I can’t see that she’s annoying about chest hurt and being hard to swallow any thing.
    But recently she finally got POEM method. Also surgeon is prof. Dr. Inoue of Showa Univ. hospital, Toyosu, Tokyo, Japan.
    it’s just short term has past but she’s now feeling great.
    I wish those who are annoying about this disease will be getting well like my girl friend.

  4. Hi, I hope you are well. I live in Japan.
    I have a girl friend and she had a terrible diagnosis of achalasia for a long time. she’s got surgery of balloon dilation and got well but it was short. I can’t see that she’s annoying about chest hurt and being hard to swallow any thing.
    But recently she finally got POEM method. Also surgeon is prof. Dr. Inoue of Showa Univ. hospital, Toyosu, Tokyo, Japan.
    it’s just short term has past but she’s now feeling great.
    I wish those who are annoying about this disease will be getting well.

    • Hi, thank you, I feel well, I do not have any problem. In fact I just leave for holidays to Croatia trying to get some sun. I wish to you girl friend all the best and I’m confident she will feel as normal in few weeks more. Take care of you, best regards, Roger

    • hi, I’m Hend from Egypt, i wish your girlfriend all the best.
      my mother diagnosed with Achalasia 14 years ago it’s a long story. I just want to know how much the POEM cost in American dollars.
      I really want my mother make this surgery in Japan with Dr. inoue

  5. my wife have suffer from achalasia cardia last one and half year recently she went for poem surgery , its very easy and safe method without any side effect , no body marks of surgery , they called this procedure not surgery . now she is ok .

  6. Hi there
    I had this surgery 3 days ago. I’m still in pain. I was released from hospital the same day. I have to have liquid for one week and for 4 weeks puree and baby food. I have to sleep in a sitting position for weeks. The only pain killer that I can take is children Tylenol. The surgery last about 2 hours and 4 hours after surgery I had a barium swallow test there was no leakage so I was released from hospital. I’ll see the surgeon in 2 weeks.

Leave a Reply

